Changeling #SixStories by Matt Wesolowski #BookReview @OrendaBooks @ConcreteKraken #BookHangoverAward

On Christmas Eve in 1988, seven-year-old Alfie Marsden vanished in the Wentshire Forest Pass, when a burst tyre forced his father, Sorrel, to stop the car. Leaving the car to summon the emergency services, Sorrel returned to find his son gone. No trace of the child, nor his remains, have ever been found. Alfie Marsden was declared officially dead in 1995.

Elusive online journalist, Scott King, whose ‘Six Stories’ podcasts have become an internet sensation, investigates the disappearance, interviewing six witnesses, including Sorrel, his son and his ex-partner, to try to find out what really happened that fateful night. He takes a journey through the trees of the Wentshire Forest – a place synonymous with strange sightings, and tales of hidden folk who dwell there. He talks to a company that tried and failed to build a development in the forest, and a psychic who claims to know where Alfie is………

Intensely dark, deeply chilling and searingly thought provoking, Changeling is an up-to-the-minute, startling thriller, taking you to places you will never, ever forget.

If you’re looking for a series with an ingenious plot, a book that’s tense, deliciously dark, a classic mystery with a horror feel then look no further than Changeling by Matt Wesolowski it has all these elements and so much more. This is the third book in the six stories series, although it can easily be read as a stand-alone I would urge you to read the whole series, I loved Six Stories , scared myself silly reading Hydra, which I also happened to love, and Changeling? Definitely the best book in the series YET, I loved it. There aren’t many books that make my heart beat nine to the dozen, but boy this one did! It’s so damn creepy, but surprisingly this novel also made for an intense, thought provoking read.

Changeling is narrated in the form of episodes of a true-crime podcast, created by elusive online journalist, Scott King. Consisting of six episodes, each features the perspective of someone connected to the disappearance of little Alfie Marsden back in 1988. Wesolowski has a unique style of writing, each characters voice makes the story come to life, it feels like you are alongside Scott King as he records his pod cast, trying to decipher the clues hidden within the characters stories to find the answers to Alfie’s disappearance. As each pod cast ends the tension is palatable and although I wanted to race through Changeling, I also wanted to savour each pod cast, and soak up the disturbing atmosphere that radiated from the pages of this brilliantly told story.  

The setting of Alfie’s disappearance Wentshire Forest is as much a character as those who appear in the book. The author captures a setting that is shrouded in folklore with tales of mythical beings, legendary beasts, and the supernatural. The forest is one where those who dare enter see and hear strange things. Wesolowski descriptions are so vivid I swear I could smell the damp, cloying earth, hear the trees whispering, sense the malevolence hiding within the forest. Changeling’s first half is very much horror based, but then the author takes the reader down a dark path, one which is horrifying in its telling. The author provides a stark reminder that sometimes it’s the monsters who live alongside us that we should fear the most, and not the monsters depicted in folklore, or maybe we should fear them both. It’s this part that make the book a horrifying and an emotional read, one that causes the reader to feel and experience emotions you would not expect in a mystery/crime novel.

Matt Wesolowski has the unique ability to write a book that mixes genres but at the same time he creates a story that is credible yet memorising in its telling. With a powerful plot, which is intense to say the least, this book made for one of the most thought provoking reads I’ve read in a long time. Changeling, in fact the whole series of Six Stories has to be one of the most exciting and innovative reads EVER written, and that’s not something I normally write in ANY review.  I’ve loved every book in the series, but Changeling is definitely my favourite, I constantly found my thoughts returning to this book long after I finished it. Matt Wesolowski raises the bar with each book he writes, each one has been very different and I adore the horror element he weaves into his books (even though they have given me nightmares). Changeling made for an exceptional read that took my breath away, I will definitely be recommending this book/series to anyone and everyone. 

  •  Print Length: 320 pagesPublisher: ORENDA BOOKS (15 Nov. 2018)
AB604517-11E1-4046-B56C-90BB6C5E89CC

It will come as no surprise but I’m giving Changeling my first shiny new Book hangover award, It’s given to a book I feel is particularly outstanding, a book that covers every aspect of what I look for in a read, an original  plot, great characters and a storyline that draws me in from the first page and keeps me in its grips until I reach the very last page.

Buying links:    Amazon UK 🇬🇧       Amazon US 🇺🇸

33D7EF83-CCF6-45FB-9390-E8B7F8767FDE

 

#TheSongbirdGirls by Richard Parker #BookReview #BlogTour @Bookwalter @Bookouture #Crime #BookSeries

Today I’m thrilled to be on the blog tour for The Songbird Girls  by Richard Parker, the second book in the Detective Tom Fabian series. If you haven’t read the first book in the series don’t let that put you off because I actually read this book as a stand-alone. Before I share my review here’s the book description……… 

Her eyes were closed. From a distance the blood around her neck might have looked like a necklace, but up close her body told a different tale. She had been murdered.A tiny songbird lay beside her, its neck broken…

Detective Tom Fabian’s past is catching up with him. It has been years since the most famous case of his career – when his evidence put infamous serial killer Christopher Wisher behind bars forever. But when Wisher summons a reluctant Fabian to his prison cell to hand over a diary, he realises that Wisher’s twisted games are far from over.

Shortly after Fabian’s visit, Wisher is found dead in his cell. And a few days later, the police find a woman’s body bearing Wisher’s signature, a dead songbird. But the police never released this detail to the public … so who has Wisher been talking to?

Fabian is desperate to find the killer before another innocent life is taken. But as more bodies turn up, Fabian begins to realise that Wisher may have handed him the clues before he died. Is the twisted serial killer still pulling the strings from beyond the grave…


The Songbird Girls by Richard Parker is the second book in a new crime series featuring Detective Tom Fabian, I’m kicking myself because I should have read Never Say Goodbye first, not because this book can’t be read as a stand-alone, (I personally think it can) but I do like to start a series at the beginning. Never the less this did not make an iota of difference and I really enjoyed The Songbird Girls from the off. Detective Tom Fabian is summoned by the infamous serial killer Christopher Wisher, a killer that Tom captured and put behind bars. Wisher gives Fabian his journal, a journal that contains clues to crimes that haven’t yet been committed. Is the journal the ramblings of a deluded of serial killer? Or is it the start of something far more disturbing. 

When police find a woman’s body bearing Wisher’s signature, a dead songbird, a detail never released to the public Fabian comes to the conclusion that it’s either a copy cat killer or  Wisher is playing a deadly games from beyond the grave. I have often wondered about the “groupies”  who appear to have a fascination with serial killers, the kind of people who visit them in prison desperate to be their confidante. Author Richard Parker delves into the life’s of such people who visit Wisher in prison, each one becomes a suspect as Fabian tries to uncover who Wisher has been sharing his secrets with.

The novel is told from the points of view of Fabian and his daughter Tilly, both get caught up in Wisher’s  twisted games. It’s the chapters told from Tilly’s POV that strike fear into the hearts of its readers, there’s an ominous sense of impending doom running through these chapters, but these are the very chapters that push the reader on, you’re  desperate to find out what Tilly’s future holds. I was surprised that Parker doesn’t really share much about Fabian’s personal life but perhaps that’s something I missed by not reading the first book. Although I’m intrigued by his character, as I feel there’s a lot to learn about him, I also liked the fact Fabian’s character doesn’t take the familiar route of using alcohol as a crutch after a bad day.  

The Songbird Girls is a very different type of police procedure, unusually there is very little focus on the victims of the crime or the forensics in fact they are secondary to the plot. The book’s focus is mainly centred on the motives behind the new crimes and the list of suspects that come in the shape of Wisher’s prison visitors. Different is always good in my opinion especially when it comes to a crime series,  I really enjoy a book a lot more when its original and doesn’t stick to a well used formula. The plot moves along at a fast pace and the author manages to create a level of suspense that intensifies as the plot progresses. If I had one small gripe I thought the ending felt rushed,but all was forgiven when the author left me with a tantalising ending,  which has left me desperate to read the next book in the series. Highly recommended 

  • Print Length: 269 pages
  • Publisher: Bookouture (19 Dec. 2018)

Buying links:  

Amazon: http://geni.us/B07HRJHCZSPublication

iBookstore: https://tinyurl.com/y6w7e286

Kobo: https://tinyurl.com/yd3qal8q

Googleplay: https://tinyurl.com/yb9h43zt

Richard Parker was formerly a TV script writer, script editor and producer before turning his hand to penning twisted stand-alone thrillers.


Author Social Media Links: 

FACEBOOK: https://www.facebook.com/richard.jayparker.9

TWITTER: https://twitter.com/Bookwalter

WEBSITE: http://www.richardjayparker.com/

INSTAGRAM: https://www.instagram.com/bemykiller/?hl=en

My #TopReads of 2018 by the book review café #MustReads

8E258DEB-1E1A-4B5F-B34A-A92F0A13CEC9

I know some people think it’s too early to be sharing a top reads post before the end of 2018, but I’m taking some time off from my blog until the new year so it’s now or never.

I have been blogging for just over three years now and yet I’ve never done a top reads post and now I know why😂  I have read some fabulous books this year and trying to narrow it down is nigh on impossible. If you read my book of the months post you will know I can’t even manage to choose ONE book of the month! So I set myself an impossible challenge or so I thought, but then I had a brainwave “why not share all the books I gave a gold star too” simple eh?

So my top read list consists of all the books I gave this award to, It’s given to a book I feel is particularly outstanding, a book that covers every aspect of what I look for in a read, an original  plot, great characters and a storyline that drew me in from the first page and kept me in its grips until I reached the very last page. So here are those books in no particular order.

Links to my reviews can be found under each set of books I’ve included

 

 

https://thebookreviewcafe.com/2018/02/02/unsub-by-meg-gardiner-bookreview-duttonbooks-meggardiner1-mustreads/

https://thebookreviewcafe.com/2018/01/06/blog-tour-hydra-by-matt-wesolowski-orendabooks-concretekraken/

https://thebookreviewcafe.com/2018/02/27/thehunger-by-alma-katsu-mustreads-almakatsu-poppystimpson-transworldbooks/

https://thebookreviewcafe.com/2018/04/09/blog-tour-keeper-by-johana-gustawsson-bookreview-

 

 

https://thebookreviewcafe.com/2018/04/23/the-key-to-deaths-door-by-mark-tilbury-bloodhoundbook-mtilburyauthor-mustreads/

https://thebookreviewcafe.com/2018/05/11/dying-truth-by-angela-marsons-bookreview-writeangie-bookouture-mustreads/

https://thebookreviewcafe.com/2018/05/25/dont-make-a-sound-by-david-jackson-bookreview-mustreads-author_dave-bonnierzaffre/

https://thebookreviewcafe.com/2018/05/30/thepuppetshow-by-m-w-craven-mwcravenuk-littlebrownuk-mustreads/

 

 

https://thebookreviewcafe.com/2018/05/15/cross-her-heart-by-sarah-pinborough-sarahpinborough-harpercollinsuk-mustreads-donttrustherbooks/

https://thebookreviewcafe.com/2018/06/07/blog-tour-th1rt3en-by-steve-cavanagh-sscav-orion_crime-lauren_bookspr-tr4cyf3nt0n-thatbookthathook/

https://thebookreviewcafe.com/2018/06/19/thislittlepiggy-by-rob-ashman-blogblitz-robashmanauthor-bloodhoundbook-mustreads/

https://thebookreviewcafe.com/2018/06/22/the-old-you-by-louise-voss-bookreview-mustreads-louisevoss1-     

 

 

https://thebookreviewcafe.com/2018/07/06/the-lion-tamer-who-lost-by-louise-beech-summermustreads-louisewriter-orendabooks/

https://thebookreviewcafe.com/2018/07/16/in-the-dark-by-cara-hunter-mustreads-carahunterbooks-penguinrandom-penguinukbooks/?preview=true&iframe=true

https://thebookreviewcafe.com/2018/08/21/blog-tour-beforehereyes-by-jack-jordan-jackjordanbooks-corvusbooks-must-reads2018/

https://thebookreviewcafe.com/2018/09/10/blog-tour-the-hangmans-hold-by-michael-wood-michaelhwood-killerreads-harpercollinsuk-

 

 

https://thebookreviewcafe.com/2018/08/23/truthandlies-by-caroline-mitchell-caroline_writes-mustreads-newcrimeseries/

https://thebookreviewcafe.com/2018/10/04/blog-tour-the-murder-of-harriet-monckton-by-elizabeth-haynes-elizjhaynes-myriadeditions-harrietmonckton-

https://thebookreviewcafe.com/2018/11/27/the-liars-wife-by-samantha-hayes-samhayes-bookouture-blogblitz-

And finally just when I thought I had completed my top reads  post I read Skin Deep by Liz Nugent which blew me away, and now it’s firmly one of my top reads of 2018. 

5bf77817-eb39-4108-9279-4e8354fc329a

#SkinDeep by Liz Nugent #BookReview #MustReads @lizzienugent #IrishBookAwards @PenguinBooks

And there you go my 19 top reads of 2018, are any of my choices included in your top reads of 2018? Do you want to share your top reads of 2018?  I would to love to know so please feel free to leave a comment in the post.

I’m ashamed to admit I only read 104 books in 2018 not as many as I hoped (Holds head in shame) but hey ho hopefully next year will be better, here are the books I read……..

7955780D-EB9D-4518-AD90-80762023AE29

4263B740-0810-4217-9C1E-84DDF830885B

B1580B8F-7AA0-47A1-8E29-101DECA9453C

52FA73AE-AAC3-4892-8D9C-1DEAB60C04B9

7A6900FF-9CD8-4F0C-82B2-3CF6EBBBB2A4

2B536981-6269-4EBB-BFE9-C9F5FA327942

376EC0A4-6332-4629-9BEC-ACE45390918C

Some of the books I’m looking forward to reading in 2019….

11834698-6DC1-4CE5-9E83-B8368D927A33.jpeg

To all the fabulous publishers and authors who have sent me ARC’s, it’s an honour to get so many awesome books, but it’s not something I’ve come to expect or take for granted so a huge thank you to each and everyone of you x x 

F6A2B885-82FC-4F17-83CA-D1C781A5653D

Finally I would like to wish my followers, those who constantly share my posts, book bloggers,  publishers, authors and readers a very merry Christmas and a very happy new year,  And thank you for all your support 😘

 

#SkinDeep by Liz Nugent #BookReview #MustReads @lizzienugent #IrishBookAwards @PenguinBooks

 

I thought I had my top reads of 2018 post finally sorted, but then along came Skin Deep by Liz Nugent who has well and truly put a spanner in the works. Read on for my thoughts but as always here’s the book description first…..

A74FBC18-8894-448A-B080-3FDB94390464

It is not difficult to pretend to be somebody else. I could probably have been an actress. Isn’t that what I’ve been doing for most of my life?’

Cordelia Russell has been living on the French Riviera for twenty-five years, passing herself off as an English socialite. But her luck, and the kindness of strangers, have run out.

The arrival of a visitor from her distant past shocks Cordelia. She reacts violently to the intrusion and flees her flat to spend a drunken night at a glittering party. As dawn breaks she stumbles home through the back streets. Even before she opens her door she can hear the flies buzzing. She did not expect the corpse inside to start decomposing quite so quickly . . .

                                                 My review 

Liz Nugent has been on my “must read authors” list for a while now, and after reading the book description for Skin Deep I knew I had to read it “sooner rather than later” and I’m so glad I did, what an utterly compelling and thrilling read it turned out to be. This has to be one of the darkest and most chilling psychological thrillers I’ve read this year, and I mean it. There’s so much to love about this book, with themes of dishonesty and abandonment at its core, it’s a story that shocks and yet compels the reader onwards.  

beauty is only skindeep”, while someone may be beautiful on the outside, when you scratch below the surface, there lies an ugliness that far outshines a beautiful face, and this sums up Cordelia’s character perfectly. Cordelia has to be one of the most damaged, chilling and unlikable characters I have ever come across in the pages of a book, and yet I was mesmerised  by her story. The author has done a magnificent job in creating such a character, she’s memorable (for all the wrong reasons), intriguing and yet there’s something so chilling about her whilst reading this book I had a constant feeling of dread in the pit of my stomach. 

Skin deep is set between the desolate Irish Island of Iniscran surrounded in myths and legends and the French Riviera with all its glamour and wealth. From Cordelia’s childhood on the island to adulthood  there is one constant in her life, her ability to leave a trail of destruction, heartbreak and misery in her wake. As the reader you learn more about Cordelia’s childhood and her dysfunctional family,  her father particularly is a very troubled soul to say the least. Cordelia has so many layers, her character is complex beyond belief, the lengths she will go to for her own gain make her a character I won’t forget anytime soon.

The chapters told from her “victims” POV were the ones I found the most intriguing, Cordelia is able to move forward without a second thought, but her victims are left devastated, some unable to put their fractured life’s back together, It’s these chapters that make any sympathy for Cordelia disappear in a flash. Liz Nugent has written a superb psychological thriller, the settings, the characters, the pace and the style of writing are perfectly balanced,  and Skin Deep sits firmly one of my top reads of 2018. Highly recommended 

This is going to come as no surprise but I’m giving Skin Deep the very prestigious Gold Star Award Rating. It’s given to a book I feel is particularly outstanding, a book that covers every aspect of what I look for in a read, an original  plot, great characters and a storyline that draws me in from the first page and kept me in its grips until I reached the very last page.

  • Paperback: 384 pages
  • Publisher: Penguin Ireland (5 April 2018)

Buying links :   Amazon 🇬🇧      Amazon US 🇺🇸

#Attend by West Camel #BookReview @West_Camel @OrendaBooks #BlogTour #MustReads

Today I’m thrilled to be one of the bloggers on the Attend by West Craven blog tour. If you are looking for a novel thats highly original, yet captivating then I may have the perfect book for you. Read on for my thoughts….

When Sam falls in love with Deptford thug Derek, and Anne’s best friend Kathleen takes her own life, they discover they are linked not just by a world of drugs and revenge; they also share the friendship of the uncanny and enigmatic Deborah.

Seamstress, sailor, story-teller and self-proclaimed centenarian immortal, Deborah slowly reveals to Anne and Sam her improbable, fantastical life, a history of hidden Deptford and ultimately the solution to their crises.

With echoes of Armistead Maupin, Attend is a beautifully written, darkly funny, mesmerisingly emotive and deliciously told debut novel, rich in finely wrought characters that you will never forget.

There’s nothing more exciting than picking up a novel that comes with a unique and spellbinding plot, a novel that consumes your every waking minute, and yet you find yourself reluctant to carry on reading it as you don’t want it to end, and Attend by West Camel is one of those novels. Oh how I adored this book, rather like enigmatic seamstress Deborah’s sewing,  this novel is rich in detail, with its threads expertly woven, resulting in a captivating read that is told in the most lyrical way. This is a book that refuses to fit into one particular genre, and I mean that in a positive way, it’s part gritty crime thriller, yet there is also a magical quality hidden within its pages.  

Attend is the story of three people,  Deborah a seamstress, Anne an ex drug addict and Sam whose coming to terms with his own sexuality, each has their own personal challenges. The author has created three very different characters but their stories intertwine, Deborah being the thread that binds them together.  The setting of Deptford, London is perfectly depicted and so vividly described, it’s not a pretty picture,  as within the shadows of the town lie the darker elements of town life, the violence and addiction that go hand with the seedier and murky criminal fraternity, a world that both Anne and Sam know only to well. 

Craven has created characters that are rich in personality, and unforgettable. Dorothy is a character who evokes strong emotions, there’s something that makes you feel desperately sorry for her, she’s someone who deserves to have an abundance of happiness and love and yet that’s something that appears to be just outside her reach. There’s a sadness and an overwhelming sense of loneliness that radiates from Dorothy, as her story unfolds you realise why. When Anne and Sam become part of Dorothy’s life she shares her stories, some see far-fetched, even elaborate and fairy like in there telling, but these are the tales that magically bind the three together. Dorothy’s stories are rich in description and beautifully told, and then you have the strands of Anne and Sam’s stories which are both dark and gritty in their telling.  

Attend is so different to many of my previous reads, and I’m not sure the pace or the plot will be to everyone’s taste, it’s definitely not action packed, this is a novel driven by its characters.  Personally I found Attend to be a memorising read, the setting, the characters and the story line make this novel such an unusual and compelling read. West Camel writes with confidence, he breathes magic into the story he is telling, his characters come alive but best of all Attend is highly original which is always a good thing.  Highly recommended.   

  • Print Length: 276 pagesU
  • Publisher: ORENDA BOOKS; None edition (15 Nov. 2018)

About the author 

Born and bred in south London – and not the Somerset village with which he shares a name – West Camel worked as an editor in higher education and business before turning his attention to the arts and publishing. He has worked as a book and arts journalist, and was editor at Dalkey Archive Press, where he edited the Best European Fiction 2015 anthology, before moving to new press Orenda Books just after its launch. He currently combines his work as editor at Orenda Books with writing and editing a wide range of material for various arts organisations, including ghost-writing a New-Adult novel and editing The Riveter magazine for the European Literature Network. He has also written several short scripts, which have been produced in London’s fringe theatres, and was longlisted for the Old Vic’s 12 playwrights project. Attend is his first novel. You can follow West on Twitter @west_camel

Buying links:   Amazon UK 🇬🇧      Amazon US 🇺🇸

My thanks to Karen Sullivan at Orenda books and Anne Cater for my ARC in exchange for an honest review. 

Follow the blog tour……..

#CoverReveal #DeadInside by Noelle Holten @nholten40 @KillerReads @HarperCollinsUK #TeamHolten

Today I’m so excited to be one of the many book bloggers taking part in the cover reveal for fellow book blogger (aka Crime Book Junkie) debut novel Dead Inside.  I was lucky enough to read a copy when it was in its infancy and readers let me tell you “you’re in for a real treat” this is a lady who certainly knows how to write a gritty crime thriller. Before I share the cover here’s the book description…….

An excellent read’ Martina Cole

A dark and gripping debut crime novel – the first in a stunning new series – from a huge new talent.

‘Kept me hooked … excellent pace and a very satisfying ending’ Angela Marsons

When three domestic abuse offenders are found beaten to death, DC Maggie Jamieson knows she is facing her toughest case yet.

The police suspect that Probation Officer Lucy Sherwood – who is connected to all three victims – is hiding a dark secret. Then a fourth domestic abuser is brutally murdered. And he is Lucy’s husband.

Now the finger of suspicion points at Lucy and the police are running out of time. Can Maggie and her team solve the murders before another person dies? And is Lucy really a cold-blooded killer?

38180697-EDBB-4B37-AFEA-3171F0BB8C76

0D49A524-A4E2-4C57-AB80-1E4D4ADF5676

BAFC4F2B-3167-47D8-8770-916A38AC2342

0D49A524-A4E2-4C57-AB80-1E4D4ADF5676

7807FFD2-AFA3-408D-AD4F-EF1E63243D6D

0D49A524-A4E2-4C57-AB80-1E4D4ADF5676

22E2113A-EAB5-4205-A06C-C50DC6717268

I love this cover and look at the endorsements from a couple of the best authors a round, high praise indeed.  You can pre-order a copy Of Dead Inside (publication date: 31st May 2019) here ⬇️

*none of the buy links are affiliate links*
Universal Buy Link:  mybook.to/DeadInside

 

E0AB674C-25D3-44A2-A3A7-8528A19B2C8A

39D7FE8C-C357-485F-8611-004CE6934546

Noelle Holten is an award-winning blogger at http://www.crimebookjunkie.co.uk/ She is the PR & Social Media Manager for Bookouture, a leading digital publisher in the UK, and a regular reviewer on the Two Crime Writers and a Microphone podcast. Noelle worked as a Senior Probation Officer for eighteen years, covering cases of domestic violence and abuse. She has three Hons BA’s – Philosophy, Sociology (Crime & Deviance) and Community Justice – and a Masters in Criminology. Noelle’s hobbies include reading, author-stalking and sharing the #booklove via her blog. Dying in the Dark is her debut novel and the start of a new series featuring DC Maggie Jamieson.

Connect with Noelle on Social Media here:
Twitter: (@nholten40) https://twitter.com/nholten40

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/noelleholtenauthor/

Amazon: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Noelle-Holten/e/B07HZ685TL 

Blog FB page: https://www.facebook.com/crimebookjunkie/
Instagram: @crimebookjunkie

#BloodhoundsChristmasCrackers Those That Remain by Rob Ashman #BookReview @RobAshmanAuthor @bloodhoundbook

Today I’m thrilled to be part of the Bloodhound Christmas Crackers blog tour, and I’m re-sharing my review of one of my favourite crimes series Those That Remain by Rob Ashman is the first book in the “Mechanic” series. If  you like a crime series that’s dark and you’re not put off by  gruesome scenes then look no further. The series would make the perfect Christmas too 🎄📚You can read on for my thoughts…..

545BD33F-081B-45A9-8BD5-E1703CA13045

The heat of the Florida summer is relentless. Lucas is coasting to retirement in a mundane Florida police precinct. His world falls apart when a brutal serial killer codenamed Mechanic lands on his patch.

Three years ago they thought Mechanic was dead. But Mechanic is very much alive and the savage ritualistic murders continue. No family is safe from the threat of slaughter at this sadistic killer’s hands.

Mechanic is always one step ahead and Lucas is forced to operate outside the law.

Who can he trust?

The shocking truth is more terrifying than Lucas could ever imagine … and he has to put his life on the line to get it.

E1F3660A-E5FA-4419-8451-16F1D13B7348

I think I have just found myself a new crime thriller author and series that will be going straight on my “must read authors list”. What a gripping book Those That Remain turned out to be. I do love American based crime thrillers they always seem so much darker and twisted. To say I loved this novel is an understatement it’s probably one of the best debut crime thrillers I’ve read in fact. Rob Ashman’s superb writing drew me in from the first chapter and I’m sure I spent much of my time reading this book in stunned silence (not a mean feat, I can tell you!).

I’m a sucker for a well depicted serial killer and the Mechanic certainly fits the bill. Oh my goodness what a character the author has created one of the most intriguing serial killers I’ve read about in a long time, they are one twisted individual and to their motives for the killings, I couldn’t help having a smidgen of sympathy for them. The Chapters from the killer give you insight to this very troubled and damaged character, from these chapters I felt like I was in the Killers head looking into the darkest and most troubled corners of the human mind which made for a blood chilling read and a couple of restless nights sleep. The crimes committed are gruesome but in the authors defence these scenes never felt gratuitous within the context of the story

Those that Remain has so many great characters I especially liked Lucas’s he’s not you typical stereotype detective for a start he’s counting down the days to retirement, so I found his character a refreshing change from the “kick ass” Detectives that are the norm in many a crime thriller. I’m not going to go into plot details as I would hate to give away spoilers, but what I will say is this crime thriller certainly made for a gripping and unpredictable read that will chill you to the bones. In my opinion it’s one of those books you just don’t want to put down as each chapter leaves you desperately wanting more, it moves along at a fast pace with so many twist and turns my head was spinning.

There were so many elements that made this book an exciting read, unique characters, an intricate plot, and a dash of dark humour. I was extremely intrigued by the profiling side of things, who knew there were so many different types of serial killers? I have one question for the author “why, oh why did it take you so darn long to get published?” I just love it when a book leaves you wanting more. If you are looking for a new crime thriller to read then look no further than Those That Remain I promise you won’t be disappointed. I’ve read the whole series now and it’s a “must” read for anyone who loves a cracking crime thriller. Highly recommended.

Buying links:    Amazon UK 🇬🇧       Amazon US 🇺🇸

Print Length: 303 pages

Publisher: Bloodhound Books (22 Jun. 2017)

Other Books in the series

You can find my reviews for these books here…

Pay The Penance by Rob Ashman #BookReview @RobAshmanAuthor @Bloodhoundbook

Those That Remain by Rob Ashman #BookReview @RobAshmanAuthor @bloodhoundbook

E0AB674C-25D3-44A2-A3A7-8528A19B2C8A

F3173702-D7CD-47B5-8E71-5F86BAB3FBE0

Rob is married to Karen with two grown up daughters. He is originally from South Wales and after moving around with work settled in North Lincolnshire where he’s spent the last twenty-two years.

Like all good welsh valley boys Rob worked for the National Coal Board after leaving school at sixteen and went to University at the tender age of twenty-three when the pit closures began to bite. Since then he’s worked in a variety of manufacturing and consulting roles both in the UK and abroad.

It took Rob twenty-four years to write his first book. He only became serious about writing it when his dad got cancer. It was an aggressive illness and Rob gave up work for three months to look after him and his mum. Writing Those That Remain became his coping mechanism. After he wrote the book his family encouraged him to continue, so not being one for half measures, Rob got himself made redundant, went self-employed so he could devote more time to writing and four years later the Mechanic Trilogy is the result.

Rob has published Those That Remain, In Your Name and Pay the Penance with Bloodhound Books and has since written Faceless, This Little Piggy and Suspended Retribution which will also be published by Bloodhound.
When he is not writing, Rob is a frustrated chef with a liking for beer and prosecco, and is known for occasional outbreaks of dancing.

Follow the rest of the blog tour…..

91FA29BF-0A55-4092-B9B6-367D4DD05168498F3CA0-D29D-4EED-9D2C-653538E4082C