**Blog Tour** The Second Chance Shoe Shop by Marcie Steele & mini interview

image

Today I am very excited to be part of the blog tour for The Second Chance Shoe Shop by Marcie Steele, I absolutely loved this book. Marcie Steele also writes as Mel Sherratt (who I’m also a huge fan of by the way). I also need to give a big thank you to Kim Nash over at the fabulous Bookouture (one of the best publisher’s about at the moment, fantastic books and authors) for giving me the opportunity to take part …..sorry I’m digressing here so on with the questions I put to the very talented Marcie Steele

image

How did Kim Nash end up as a character in your book? (And for those who don’t know who she is could you explain Who this wonderful lady is), although I’m sure most people will know)

Kim Nash is the Publicity and Social Media manager for Bookouture. I’ve known her for years online, and met up with her finally last year. As I was writing the book, up popped a character and I needed a name. Often characters pop up and because I don’t want to stop writing, I will name them things like Taylor Swift or Simon Cowell, for example, so as I don’t stop writing, and then I go back and change them. When I reread the draft to edit, I saw I had used Kim’s name and thought it would be nice to keep Kim in there.

What made you decide to write a book about a shoe shop? 

Originally it was going to be about three women who worked in the offices of a shoe factory that had been threatened by closure. But because I had never worked in a factory before, I thought it would be more authentic if I set it in a shoe shop. I haven’t worked in one of those either, but it was the background that I needed. So Chandler’s was created – and I’m so pleased that I did now.

Why did you decide to change genre and your name, after your success as Mel Sherratt?

I started writing women’s fiction first and then turned to crime. But I had written as Marcie Steele for a while without telling anyone my pen name. Bookouture offered me a three-book deal for two books that had previously been published, Stirred with Love and That’s What Friends are for, and a new one, which is now The Second Chance Shoe Shop. Off the back of the success as Mel, I’ve had lots of my readers follow me over to my ‘pink’ side.

Do you have a really expensive pair of shoes?

I don’t have any expensive shoes as I have a fair few pairs and I don’t spend excessively. I like a bargain just like anyone else. But I do have to pay more for comfort these days!

What’s next for Marcie Steele?

Well, I had a three-book deal and this is the third book, so it depends very much on the success of this one…

image

About Marcie Steele

Marcie Steele also writes under the name of . She considers herself to be a romantic at heart and has always wanted to write about characters who were not necessarily involved in the darker side of life. Coffee, cakes and friends are three of her favourite things, hence Stirred with Love for her first book writing as Marcie Steele. Her second, That’s What Friends are For, was published in December 2015 and her new book, The Second Chance Shoe Shop will be out on 8 April 2016.

As Mel Sherratt , She write crime thrillers, psychological suspense and fiction with a punch – or grit-lit. Shortlisted for the prestigious CWA (Crime Writer’s Association) Dagger in Library Award 2014, her inspiration comes from authors such as Mandasue Heller, Lynda la Plante, Mandasue Heller and Elizabeth Haynes. Since 2012, all eight of her crime novels have been bestsellers, each one climbing into the kindle UK top 20 and She has had several number ones.

Marcie lives in Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire, with her husband and terrier, Dexter.

Links to Marcie Steele

Goodreads    Twitter   Bookouture    Facebook    WordPress

image

 

Book description

All Riley Flynn wants is to meet someone who makes her happy. But attracting the right kind of man is not easy, and with her heart still hurting from her last break-up, Riley believes she’ll never find love again.

A year ago, Sadie Stewart’s whole world was shattered when her husband, Ross, died. She has struggled to keep herself together for the sake of their young daughter, but with the anniversary of his death approaching, Sadie finds herself overwhelmed by grief.

Sadie and Riley work at Chandlers shoe shop, in the charming town of Hedworth. But when Chandlers is threatened with closure, the friends are confronted with the loss of not only their jobs, but also their support network – the glue that holds them together when they are close to breaking.

As they put together a plan to save their beloved shop, Sadie realises that she might just be learning to live again. Could it be that new beginnings are just round the corner? The campaign also finds Riley unexpectedly crossing paths with charming photographer, Ethan. Maybe her second chance at love is right under her feet …

A delightfully romantic tale of love, friendship and putting your best foot forward, for fans of Carole Matthews and Amanda Prowse.

image
When I pick up a Marcie Steele book I know I’m in for a real treat, and The Second Chance Shoe Shop did not disappoint, this is definitely Marcie’s best book yet. If you were to walk down the high-street of a small town I’m sure you will see a shoe shop similar to Chandlers slightly outdated with practical but boring shoes adorning the window display. Good friends Riley (who has a habit of attracting the wrong men) and Sadie (a grieving widow with a young daughter) work at Chandlers shoe shop, to them it’s more than a job, it’s the one place they have stability and support in times of crisis, Threatened with closure they put together a plan to save their beloved shop, plans that include Twitter, hash tags and flash mobs, which give a refreshingly bang up to date feel to the tale.

Marcie Steele has an amazing way of bringing her characters alive, they are so well developed with dialogue that flows seamlessly, that you are happy to invest time and emotions in this superbly written book. Friends Dan (looking for love), Ash (has she find true love?) and cooper (a girls best friend), who collectively make up this circle of friends. I loved all the characters as they had such depth to them, I felt I was part of their life’s, as they were so realistically portrayed. As with any group of friends there is heartbreak, love, honesty and laughter with plenty of drama! But their tight bond shines through.

As the story evolved I became so enthralled with the characters I didn’t want the book to it end, and come the end I shed a tear because it was so touching and heartwarming. For me this book was character driven and bought The Second Chance Shoe Shop to life, making it a very enjoyable read. If you are expecting this book to be a run of the mill chick lit tale, then you will be sadly mistaken, it is so much more than that. It’s a book full of gentle humour, friendship and new beginnings, second chances and shoes of course! with an original plot thrown in. Even though this is only Marcie’s third book in chick fiction, she certainly gives more established authors in this genre a run for their money

Print Length: 262 pages

Publisher: Bookouture (8 April 2016)

Kindle

image

One thought on “**Blog Tour** The Second Chance Shoe Shop by Marcie Steele & mini interview

  1. Pingback: **My Book Of The Month** April 2016 | The Book Review Cafe

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s