**Blog Tour** #GuestPost by CJ Carver Author Of Tell Me A Lie @C_J_Carver

img_1289

Today I’m thrilled to be on the blog tour for Tell Me A Lie by CJ Carver.  Tell Me A Lie is the latest gripping international thriller in the authors brilliant Dan Forrester series. It’s certainly a book I’m sure I would enjoy if my TBR pile wasn’t in danger of suffocating me! but it’s one I hope to read in the not to distant future. In the meantime I have a very interesting guest post from the author, as well as book description and buying links further down the post.

image
The Problems of Being a Writer. Five things I wish I’d known before I’d put pen to paper.

There’s a cartoon in The Author magazine showing two women looking at a sign on the wall. It reads: WANTED: Authors to Work for Free – Great Exposure! One of the women turns to the other saying, “If I wanted exposure, I’d walk naked to the North Pole.”

I wish I’d known that people from publishers to libraries and festival-organisers assume that writers will do anything for free. That I would be expected to travel the length of the country to provide them with my expertise for nothing. As a new writer I have to admit I was a bit shocked. A solicitor wouldn’t provide a day’s work for free, would they? Or a car mechanic?

However, the benefits soon became clear, which are: hanging out with authors, agents, editors, bloggers and reviewers (all very good fellows) and meeting readers (which is seriously fabulous).

I wish I’d known how important getting quotes and reviews is. You can have a giant sticker on a huge pile of your books in the front of Sainsbury’s saying BOOK OF THE YEAR but without a couple of cracking quotes people will still be reluctant to buy it.

An endorsement by another author is invaluable and points the reader to the style of book they’re looking at. Authors are incredibly approachable and most extremely supportive, but since I didn’t know this for ages my first book had absolutely nothing on its jacket. I even won the CWA Debut Dagger for Blood Junction and it wasn’t mentioned. Not good.

I wish I’d known how much luck an author needs in order to become really successful. Without the Richard & Judy Book Club a lot of great authors wouldn’t see the light of day. Getting on their latest list is like winning the lottery and a lot of really fabulous books don’t make it. If Lady Luck is on your writer’s shoulder, you’ll go far.

I wish I’d known about PLR and ALCS. Public Lending Right is a legal right to payment from government to a writer each time their books are borrowed from public libraries. The Authors’ Licensing and Collecting Society is to ensure that writers are paid what’s due to them when people use their work – from all over the world. Both are free, and both easy to sign up to. Payments form the ALCS arrive with no notice and when they drop through my letterbox they really make my day.

I wish I’d known that being a writer wasn’t just about writing. Nobody takes responsibility for my publicity, getting reviews and quotes, book blogging, social media or website except me.

Writing is the easy bit. The rest of the process is also up to the writer. But I wouldn’t have it any other way because I LOVE MY JOB!

@CJ Carver 2017

img_1259

CJ Carver is a half-English, half-kiwi, author living just outside Bath. She lived in Australia for ten years before taking up long-distance rally driving – she has driven London to Saigon, London to Cape Town, and completed 14,500 miles on the Inca Trail.

Since then she has written nine novels which have been published in the UK, USA and translated throughout Europe. CJ’s first novel Blood Junction, won the CWA Debut Dagger Award.

CJ is a co-founder and one of the first judges for the Women’s World Car of The Year Award.

Version 6

Links: 

Website     Zaffre Books Author Page     Twitter: @C_J_Carver

IMG_1293.JPG

Book description

How do you protect your family when you can’t remember who’s hunting them? A gripping international thriller, perfect for fans of Lee Child and Mason Cross

A family in England is massacred, the father left holding the shotgun.

PC Lucy Davies is convinced he’s innocent

A sleeper agent in Moscow requests an urgent meeting with Dan Forrester, referencing their shared past.

His amnesia means he has no idea who he can trust. An aging oligarch in Siberia gathers his henchmen to discuss an English accountant.    It’s Dan’s wife

Paperback: 496 pages

Publisher: Zaffre (12 Jan. 2017)

Amazon UK 🇬🇧

Make sure you keep up with the blog tour for reviews and much more 

img_1266

Advertisements

4 thoughts on “**Blog Tour** #GuestPost by CJ Carver Author Of Tell Me A Lie @C_J_Carver

  1. Shame would love to read it but I’m not on face book . I’ve only just received my banner after emailing them yesterday and today for it saying sorry for delay with banner. It’s not good enough. Your right it’s a shambles.

    Like

  2. Pingback: **Weekly Wrap Up** | The Book Review Café

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s