Blood Daughter by Dreda Say Mitchell #BookReview @DredaMitchell @HodderBooks

IMG_2509

Book description

BLOOD DAUGHTER sees the Miller sisters’ loyalties put to the ultimate test in a gripping thriller, perfect for fans of Kimberley Chambers and Mandasue Heller.

They say blood is thicker than water.

That’s not going to stop it being spilled.

Life hasn’t been easy for the Miller family. Finally, mum Babs has had one bit of luck. She plans to share the profits with her daughters. She thought they’d be pleased…
But money always causes trouble, especially when it’s desperately needed. Jen wants to make a better life for her kids. Tiff owes a lot of bad men a lot of money. And Dee is worried that her husband is getting back into the criminal life.

As the sisters fall out, a gold bullion heist brings more opportunities – and many more dangers. None of them are giving up without a fight…

IMG_2357I know when I pick up a book by Dreda Say Mitchell I’m in for a real treat, Blood Daughter takes the reader on a journey through the seedier side of life, the criminal underworld, dysfunctional families, a world where violence is an every day occurrence. Although you could probably read this book as a standalone I would recommend you read the first two books in the series first, Blood Sister and Blood Mother, not only because it’s such a fabulous series but there’s a hell of a back story to the Miller family.

In many ways the characters are the typical stereotypes I have come to expect in this type of crime book, but the author has expertly created an array of characters with big personalities that make them unforgettable. I thought things couldn’t get any worse for the miller’s but boy was I wrong. Mum Bab’s and daughters Dee, Jen and Tiff have all had their fair share of life throwing them a duff hand, things appear to be on the up when Bab’s comes into some money and tells her daughters she’s going to share it with them, you would think all their problems would be over, but hell no, as the saying goes “money is the root of all evil” and it’s not long before the once close family are at war.

Blood Daughter won’t be to everyone’s taste as it’s punctuated with choice language, but it’s very much in keeping with the characters, some of the subjects touched on may make some readers feel uncomfortable, prostitution, violence and debt are just a few that come to mind. In the author’s defence Blood Daughters is a very gritty and entertaining read and if like me you enjoy what I personally call “grit lit” authentic characters, settings and story lines that depict the shadier side of life, then I would highly recommend this book.

Buying links:   Amazon UK 🇬🇧        Amazon US 🇬🇧

Print Length: 448 pages

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton (24 Aug. 2017)

5 thoughts on “Blood Daughter by Dreda Say Mitchell #BookReview @DredaMitchell @HodderBooks

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s