**Blog tour** The Shrouded Path by Sarah Ward #Extract @sarahrward1 @FaberBooks @joanna_brl

Good morning to you all, today I’m thrilled to be closing the blog tour for The Shrouded Path by Sarah Ward and to celebrate the occasion I have a very intriguing extract from this novel, but first the book description……

2967A944-3EEC-45AC-AE1F-C73A60293332

The past won’t stay buried forever.

November, 1957: Six teenage girls walk in the churning Derbyshire mists, the first chills of winter in the air. Their voices carrying across the fields, they follow the old train tracks into the dark tunnel of the Cutting. Only five appear on the other side.

October, 2014: a dying mother, feverishly fixated on a friend from her childhood, makes a plea: ‘Find Valerie.’ Mina’s elderly mother had never discussed her childhood with her daughter before. So who was Valerie? Where does her obsession spring from?

DC Connie Childs, off balance after her last big case, is partnered up with new arrival to Bampton, Peter Dahl. Following up on what seems like a simple natural death, DC Childs’ old instincts kick in, pointing her right back to one cold evening in 1957. As Connie starts to broaden her enquiries, the investigation begins to spiral increasingly close to home.

Buying link:    Amazon UK 🇬🇧

  • Hardcover: 400 pages
  • Publisher: Faber & Faber; Main edition (6 Sept. 2018)

97BB8FA6-143F-49C0-99B2-F3CC339738ED

Wednesday, 6 November 1957

The first week of November and Susan was already humming the Twelve Days of Christmas. She needed to get it out of her head before she reached home, as her dad would have no truck with carols until the night before Christmas. His Methodist upbringing had been left far behind as he’d gratefully abandoned the church services and interminable hymns. Some childhood habits are hard to shift, however, and the tradition of the tree going up with the minimum of fuss, and carols put on hold until after tea on Christmas Eve, was a convention from which he refused to budge.

Susan’s mum let him have his way, although Susan had recently caught her listening to a festive medley on the Light Programme. Don’t tell your father, she’d cautioned with her eyes before turning the dial of the wooden console with a snap. The hymn book with its meagre selection of carols had already been taken down from the shelf by Susan’s brother and left on top of the upright piano in readiness for their father’s heralding in of the festive season. Come seven o’clock, Christmas Eve, the routine would be the same. Their father, after much bother looking for his glasses, would fumble over the keys to pick out a tune barely recognisable from the ones sung throughout December outside the closed front door. For even well-meaning carol singers weren’t immune from her father’s edict. No Christmas about the house before the 24th. Even on the doorstep.

But carols need to be learnt. Susan, a high alto with a knack for holding a note in the face of her classmates’ flat and occasionally sharp pitch, was expected at Wednesday evening choir practice in the hut near the school gates. Warmed by only a three-bar fire, she and the other members of the fourth and fifth forms who were willing to practise in time for the school concert breathed out cold air as their lungs ached and chests heaved with the effort of singing in the damp fug. Twelve drummers drumming, eleven pipers piping, ten lords a-leaping.

The tune swirled around her head as she steered her bike through the autumn mist along the thin track that would take her across the bridge to her home on the other side of Bampton. The wheels bumped and squeaked over the uneven path, startling the few birds prepared to stay in the Peak District for the winter. Frost had begun to settle on the fields, giving the landscape a shimmering glow. As the temperature dropped, Susan tightened the ends of her headscarf under her chin, pulling the thin material away from her ears so that she could hear any encroaching sounds. Her thick blazer warmed her body and she dragged the sleeves of her jumper down over her cold palms, which grasped the metal of the handlebars.

Susan kept a wary eye on the fields around her. She’d been told not to come this way ever since her friend, Iris, had seen a man standing in the field far off, completely naked. Iris had rushed back to her house in the street next to Susan’s and some of the fathers, Susan’s included, had gone in search of the pervert. Of course, he’d gone by the time the men arrived. Disappeared into the mists but not forgotten by the community. Don’t go the back way home from choir, she’d been warned. First by her dad and afterwards, more sharply, by her mother, who’d looked like she wanted to expand the conversation into something more meaningful. Susan had hung about in the kitchen but nothing further had been revealed.

When she got home, she’d pretend she hadn’t come this way. Would tell her mother that, of course, she’d taken the way up Bampton High Street, cycled behind the cottage hospital and continued along the main road over the railway bridge to the entrance of the new housing estate. However, no matter how quickly she cycled, the fact was that this back way would get her home quicker on a cold November evening, despite the uneven path. The route was a direct line from her school to the back of her estate where she’d have to lift her bike over the chained five-bar gate.

She looked around the chilled landscape but could see nothing through the grey mist. She pinched the bike’s tyres to reassure herself that they were rock solid. Any problems and she’d hop on and make a quick getaway, confident she could ride faster than any man, especially a naked one, could run.

E0AB674C-25D3-44A2-A3A7-8528A19B2C8A

8873903E-2E27-4624-86F2-D25F0B663BED.jpeg

Sarah Ward is the author of four DC Childs novels, In Bitter Chill, A Deadly Thaw, A Patient Fury and The Shrouded Path set in the Derbyshire Peak District where she lives. On her website, Crimepieces (www.crimepieces.com), she reviews the best of current crime fiction published around the world. She is a judge for the Petrona Award for Scandinavian translated crime novels. Sarah was a 2015 Amazon Rising Star and A Patient Fury was The Observer’s Thriller of the Month in 2017.

Follow Sarah on Twitter @sarahrward1

Find her on Facebook at: http://www.facebook.com

If you want to read reviews for The Shrouded Path check out the tour poster below there are some fab book bloggers on this tour.

E71FE368-DF6F-4AD3-AE4C-2D9D09FB6ACA

**Blog Tour** #SuspendedRetribution by Rob Ashman @RobAshmanAuthor @Bloodhoundbook

Today I’m thrilled to be on the blog tour for Suspended Retribution by Rob Ashman. If you love a crime thriller that’s dark, intense and gruesome in parts then look no further.  Before I share my review here’s the book description.

685A5A14-FF9B-4382-AA3B-3B1F14E651F4

 

Alex Jarrod is a war veteran. When a flesh-eating parasite destroys his face, he returns from Afghanistan with a head full of nightmares. His world crumbles around him until he realises there is work to be done. Another war to fight.

DI Rosalind Kray has her hopes pinned on becoming the new DCI after tracking down another serial killer, but those in charge have other ideas.

After a small-time crook is killed in a hit and run and a serial burglar is brutally murdered, Kray suspects a vigilante is at work. But her bosses disregard her theory – until they discover a third victim.

Once again Kray finds herself on the trail of a serial killer but this one is different. This one lives in his own private war zone.

With her bosses on her heels Kray has her work cut out and the body count is rising. 

But he’s not going to stop until the mission is complete … and Kray’s not going to stop until she finds him.

E1F3660A-E5FA-4419-8451-16F1D13B7348

Any one who follows my blog will know I’m a huge crime thriller lover, not the Cosy Murder mystery garden variety type but the dark, gritty ones, the type that keep you awake at night (make of that what you will). So I always look forward to reading a book by Rob Ashman, this is an author whose fertile imagination allows him to create  interesting characters and the most shocking and original story lines. Suspended Retribution is the third instalment in the DI Rosalind Kray series, I raved about the first two books in the series but this book is the icing on the proverbial cake, what a fabulous and deeply disturbing read this one turned out to be.

In Suspended Retribution we see a different side to DI Rosalind Kray both in her personal and work life, at times she’s ballsy, confident and reckless but behind the facade is a woman tormented by grief and self doubt which help to make her a relatable protagonist in my opinion. Rob Ashman has an incredible knack of creating the most twisted killers who carry out the most terrible crimes and you have every reason to loathe them but then he gives you their back story and before you know it they get under your skin. I couldn’t help feeling some empathy for Alex Jarrod a war veteran turned killer (not a spoiler as in the book description), but as to the “why” Alex went from being a soldier who protected people to a killer, you will just have to read the book. Although I would never think killing someone was right there was a tiny part of me that couldn’t help thinking the victims were getting their very own kind of “karma”. 

The crimes are vividly described  enabling the reader  to form all to real mental images of the victims and the crime scenes, luckily  for me I’m not squeamish but there were a couple of times I actually grimaced at the authors descriptions. In a nut shell Suspended Retribution made for a disconcerting read but also one that was nigh on impossible to put down. This crime series is one that’s  going from strength to strength the plots are imaginative, the characters are brilliantly depicted, it’s a series that excites me as you are never sure which direction the next book will take.  Would I recommend this book? Most definitely,  in fact I would recommend the book, the series, or any of Rob Ashman’s books. 

  • Print Length: 278 pages
  • Publisher: Bloodhound Books (September 12, 2018)

Buying links:    Amazon UK 🇬🇧       Amazon US 🇺🇸

E0AB674C-25D3-44A2-A3A7-8528A19B2C8A

CC25CF2F-4B51-4972-8A92-2A4CEB359D99

Rob is married to Karen with two grown up daughters. He is originally from South Wales and after moving around with work settled in North Lincolnshire where he’s spent the last twenty-two years.

Like all good welsh valley boys Rob worked for the National Coal Board after leaving school at sixteen and went to University at the tender age of twenty-three when the pit closures began to bite. Since then he’s worked in a variety of manufacturing and consulting roles both in the UK and abroad.

It took Rob twenty-four years to write his first book. He only became serious about writing it when his dad got cancer. It was an aggressive illness and Rob gave up work for three months to look after him and his mum. Writing Those That Remain became his coping mechanism. After he wrote the book his family encouraged him to continue, so not being one for half measures, Rob got himself made redundant, went self-employed so he could devote more time to writing and four years later the Mechanic Trilogy is the result.

When he is not writing, Rob is a frustrated chef with a liking for beer and prosecco, and is known for occasional outbreaks of dancing.

Rob published the Mechanic Trilogy with Bloodhound Books in 2017 and will be releasing three new books during 2018. These are titled: Faceless, This Little Piggy and Suspended Retribution.

LINKS:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Rob-Ashman-Author-1428800800468097/

Website: http://robashman.com/

Twitter: @RobAshmanAuthor

7E9306AB-1D87-4FBF-9297-26AEDE8AA963.jpeg

**Blog tour** The Hangman’s Hold by Michael Wood @MichaelHWood @KillerReads @HarperCollinsUK #CrimeFiction

 

After a much needed extended break the book review cafe is back. My first review is for a crime series that just happens to be one of my favourites, so I’m over the moon to be taking part in the blog tour for The Hangman’s Hold by Michael Wood. This was one of my most anticipated reads of 2018 as I’m a huge fan of the Matilda Darke series, did it live up to my expectations? Read on for my thoughts…..

C17FE82C-1620-4D7A-A346-FBE95ABE8017

Your life is in his hands.

In the gripping new serial killer thriller from Michael Wood, Matilda Darke faces a vicious killer pursuing his own brand of lethal justice. Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons and Helen Fields.

There’s a killer in your house.

The Hangman waits in the darkness of your living room. As soon as you get home, he will kill you – hang you by the neck – and make you pay for all the crimes you have tried desperately to forget.

He knows your darkest secrets.

The police are running out of time. DCI Matilda Darke is facing her worst nightmare: a serial killer pursuing his own brand of lethal justice, whose campaign of violence is spreading fear throughout the city.

And he is closer than you think.

As the body count rises, Matilda is personally targeted and even her most trusted colleagues fall under suspicion. But can she keep those closest to her from harm? Or is it already too late?

6964FDB0-E0FD-4BD0-AC03-BC0E4DF97731

OMG what a book The Hangman’s Hold turned out to be, this is one of my all time favourite crime procedure series, so I knew I was in for a thrilling read but Michael Wood has taken this brilliant series to a whole new level. It’s a shocker, brutal, dark and fabulously twisted in the best possible way. It’s not often when I finish a book I’m lost for words but I must admit I had to pick my jaw up off the floor and then re-read the last few chapters just to process what I was reading.  Michael Wood is a gifted story teller and deserves high praise indeed as this is definitely the best book in the series so far.  Although this book could easily be read as a standalone I would urge you to start at the beginning just because you are missing out on a “must read” series. 

Matilda Darke is one of my favourite fictional Detectives the author has incorporated traits into her character that make her relatable to readers, as a Detective she’s confident, resourceful and determined but you also have a woman who is still grieving for her husband alongside the guilt she feels about a crime she was unable to solve, which makes her character vulnerable but at the same time far more likeable. Just as you think the author is going to bring some happiness into Matilda’s life things go down hill rapidly.  Matilda is targeted by the serial killer and things take a creepy and sinister turn, one that will make her question the loyalty of her own team.

A vigilante turned serial killer isn’t an original plot but Michael Wood puts his own unique spin on the subject and has written a story that’s gripping, fast paced with some real shockers hidden within the pages.  Now normally this type of serial killer would make me question the rights and wrongs of what they were doing, but not this one, he seems to relish what he’s doing (no spoiler here as the sex of the killer is in the book description), and there’s definitely more behind his motives but to what my lips are tightly sealed.  There are few scenes that some may find upsetting but they are paramount to the plot and aren’t to explicit. 

The Hangman’s Hold is rife with tension, the author throws in plenty of red herrings to misdirect the reader and thus maintaining the suspense to the heart stopping conclusion. I definitely can’t wait for the next book in the series after Michael Wood left a clue to the subject of the next book. In my humble opinion The Hangman’s Hold is a dark and engrossing tale that any crime thriller will enjoy. Highly recommended. 

This is going to come as no surprise but I’m giving  The Hangman’s Hold the very prestigious Gold Star Award Rating. It’s given to a book I feel is particularly outstanding, a book that covers every aspect of what I look for in a read, an original  plot, great characters and a storyline that draws me in from the first page and keeps me in its grips until I reached the very last page.

IMG_3573

Paperback: 450 pages

Publisher: Killer Reads (20 Sept. 2018)

Links:  Amazon UK 🇬🇧        Amazon US🇺🇸

E0AB674C-25D3-44A2-A3A7-8528A19B2C8A

0452B5F0-845E-423F-8499-FD9654E1E2A5

Michael Wood is a proofreader and former journalist from Sheffield, South Yorkshire. He is the author of the DCI Matilda Darke series set in Sheffield.

For Reasons Unknown was Michael Wood’s debut novel, which was published in 2015. Harper Collins published the second instalment, Outside Looking In 2016 and A Room Full Of Killers in 2017 

Other books in the series

 

Link to buy further books in the series Matilda Darke series

Follow the rest of the blog tour…..

0A352A9C-0451-4E0A-B318-6179ACDA2D92

#TruthAndLies by Caroline Mitchell @Caroline_Writes #MustReads #NewCrimeSeries

 

A886EF58-DBEA-4ABC-A917-BD7FBA9203EB

Today I’m thrilled to be sharing my review for Truth And Lies by Caroline Mitchell. It’s the first book in the DI Amy Winter crime thriller series and what a gripping read it turned out to be. Read on for my thoughts, but first the book description….

F957C73A-F90B-453A-AAD9-35AF216DB375

Meet Amy Winter: Detective Inspector, daughter of a serial killer.

Meet Amy Winter: Detective Inspector, daughter of a serial killer.

DI Amy Winter is hoping to follow in the footsteps of her highly respected police officer father. But when a letter arrives from the prison cell of Lillian Grimes, one half of a notorious husband-and-wife serial-killer team, it contains a revelation that will tear her life apart.

Responsible for a string of heinous killings decades ago, Lillian is pure evil. A psychopathic murderer. And Amy’s biological mother. Now, she is ready to reveal the location of three of her victims—but only if Amy plays along with her twisted game.

While her fellow detectives frantically search for a young girl taken from her mother’s doorstep, Amy must confront her own dark past. Haunted by blurred memories of a sister who sacrificed herself to save her, Amy faces a race against time to uncover the missing bodies.

But what if, from behind bars, Grimes has been pulling the strings even tighter than Amy thought? And can she overcome her demons to prevent another murder?

6964FDB0-E0FD-4BD0-AC03-BC0E4DF97731Every  time I see Caroline Mitchell is publishing a new book I get really excited, but when she brings out a new book that’s also the first book in a new crime series well let’s just say my excitement reaches fever pitch. Truth And Lies is the first book in the DI Amy Winter series and what a cracking start to the series it turned out to be.  There are so many police procedure crime thrillers on the market, so for me personally to commit  to a new crime series it’s got to grab me by the throat,  with an interesting protagonist, gripping story line and plenty of heart thumping moments that leave me desperate to read more and guess what? Truth And Lies ticks every box and more.  

A police officer who happens to be the daughter of a pair of notorious serial killers was sheer genius on the author’s part, not so good for Amy I must admit, especially when her mother Lillian Grimes contacts her promising to reveal the location of three of her victims, but what will she want from Amy in exchange for the truth? and what twisted game is Lillian playing? and where does a young girl going missing fit it? There were so many questions I was desperate to find the answers to.  

I have to mention what a fabulous character Lillian turned out to be, I do love a well depicted serial killer, she’s  creepy, a master of manipulation, and cold hearted to say the least! and yet I couldn’t help but be intrigued by her character, on many occasions I felt a chill settle on me as her calculated games grew more sinister. As for Amy the author has created an exciting and complex protagonist, yes she has her problems like many fictional detectives, but how many have serial killers as parents? As you learn more about Amy’s horrifying childhood you can’t help but become involved in her story,  and it’s a chilling one to say the least.  Another fascinating character was Paddy,  Amy’s work colleague and right hand man, his story? well let’s just say “there were a few surprises there”, and certainly added a mysterious element to the overall plot.   

On many occasions whilst reading about the crimes Amy’s biological parents committed  I couldn’t help but think of notorious serial killers Fred and Rose West, which made this book more horrifying. Caroline Mitchell never fails to amaze me, I love her style of writing and her characters, add to the mixture a gripping plot, and a couple of real “OMFG” moments (very devious, but loved them) Truth And Lies has “bestseller” written all over it. I’m already excited for the next book especially as the author leaves the reader with a humdinger of a teaser.  Would I recommend this book? you bet I would. If you consider yourself to be a  crime thriller lover this is one not to be missed.  

I’m giving Truth And Lies the very prestigious Gold Star Award Rating. It’s given to a book I feel is particularly outstanding, a book that covers every aspect of what I look for in a read, an original  plot, great characters and a storyline that draws me in from the first page and keeps me in its grips until I reach the very last page.

IMG_3573

Buying links:   Amazon UK 🇬🇧     Amazon US 🇺🇸

  • Paperback: 348 pages
  • Publisher: Thomas & Mercer (30 Aug. 2018)

BE262169-CFE1-4562-A2E2-C602F1DDDDFB

To celebrate Caroline Mitchell’s Truth And Lies being her 10th book to be published she is running a FB party on Saturday 1st September if you pop by you can interact with the author and win some fab goodies link below……..

Caroline Mitchell FB Party 🎉🎈📚

 

C4DCD662-00F9-4ED7-87D3-A2D84310E185

 

**Blog tour** #BeforeHerEyes by Jack Jordan @JackJordanBooks @CorvusBooks #Must Reads2018

B913B0B3-D0B4-44B9-B992-71E89FB15D6D

I’m so excited to be on the blog tour for one of my most anticipated reads of the year Before Her Eyes by Jack Jordan. If you enjoy a psychological thriller with lots of twists and a gripping story line look no further, read on for me review, but firstly the book description……

1D3B57DD-7712-49D0-A6ED-3CB90358C81C

She can’t see the killer

But the killer can see her…

Naomi Hannah has been blind since birth. Struggling with living in a small, claustrophobic town, Naomi contemplates ending her life. But then she stumbles across the body of a young woman who has been brutally murdered. She senses someone else there at the scene – watching her. 

Naomi may not be able to see the killer’s face, but she is still the only person who can identify him.

As the police begin hunting the person responsible and more victims are discovered, Naomi is forced to answer the question on which her fate hangs: why did the killer let her live?

In a town this small, the murderer must be close, perhaps even before her very eyes…

E1F3660A-E5FA-4419-8451-16F1D13B7348

“Oh, what a tangled web Jack Jordan weaves when first he practice to deceive” and boy does he deceive in the best possible way, what a gripping and compelling read Before Her Eyes turned out to be,  this book rattles along like a express train, giving the reader no time to breathe. Full of misdirection and unreliable characters I can honestly say “this is definitely the authors best book yet”. Perhaps a **word of warning** from the wise (cough!) clear your schedule, lock the doors, it’s one of those books that the slightest irritation will bug the life out of you. 

What I loved about this book was it felt far more menacing than most psychological thrillers I read, partly because the protagonist Naomi is blind, this adds a creepy vibe to the whole plot as you realise the killer is hiding in “plain sight”  I felt the hairs on the back on my neck stand on end as things became far more sinister. When Naomi stumbles across a body, and knows there is someone there in the shadows watching her, her sense of fear and anxiety were palatable,  countless times I found myself holding my breath on her behalf. This turned out to be a nerve wrecking book, as the author puts Naomi in jeopardy on more than one occasion.  Before Her Eyes is fraught with tension and feels very claustrophobic thanks to the “small town, living in everyone’s pockets” setting and Naomi’s condition.  

Detective Markus Campbell is at the centre of the police investigation and he’s certainly got his work cut out with a cold case and more victims being discovered, but he’s determined to get to the truth and protect Naomi. Jack Jordan deviously keeps  the attention of the reader deliberately focused on the numerous red herrings and false motives in order to conceal the identity of the murderer, and my god he does it with confidence and flair. The author teases the reader by throwing numerous “suspects” into the ring, just when I thought I had it all worked out it and had the culprit  firmly in sight, he deviously twisted the knife (excuse the poor pun) and made me question everything I had read.  

As reviews go I’m keeping this one vague as I would hate to spoil the read for others, but I do hope this review will pique your interest enough to pick this book up. With an original premise Before Her Eyes made for a terrifying and atmospheric thriller, I literally read this book in one hugely satisfying sitting. As psychological thrillers go this is probably one of the best books I’ve read this year, I really enjoyed the element of surprise that I can find sometimes lacking in this genre.  Highly recommended.

 This is going to come as no surprise but I’m giving Before Her Eyes the very prestigious Gold Star Award Rating. It’s given to a book I feel is particularly outstanding, a book that covers every aspect of what I look for in a read, an original  plot, great characters and a storyline that draws me in from the first page and keeps me in its grips until I reach the very last page. 

IMG_3573

  • Print Length: 448 pages
  • Publisher: Corvus (16 Aug. 2018)

Buying links:   Amazon UK 🇬🇧       Amazon US 🇺🇸

E0AB674C-25D3-44A2-A3A7-8528A19B2C8A

4B800B1E-E005-45B8-BE9F-57E54193137C

Jack Jordan is the global number one bestselling author of Anything for Her (2015), My Girl (2016), A Woman Scorned (2018), and Before Her Eyes (2018). 

To find out more about Jack, enter numerous annual giveaways to win signed copies of his books, and be one of the first to hear of new book releases and news, follow him here:

Facebook: JackJordanOfficial

Twitter: @JackJordanBooks

Instagram: @JackJordan_Author

Goodreads: JackJordanOfficial

If my review hasn’t convinced you to buy this  book, you may want to check out my fellow book bloggers  reviews…..

50BB33E5-0043-4581-83DC-8AD7B893C759

**Blog Blitz** #TheForgotten by Casey Kelleher @CaseyKelleher @Bookouture

 

Today I’m thrilled to be one of the bloggers on the Blog Blitz for The Forgotten by Casey Kelleher. If you love a gritty crime series then I might just have found your next book. Read on for my thoughts but first the book description…….

290A1A82-4413-4D75-89CA-8892C1416C51

The more people you love, the more you have to lose…

Nancy Byrne might be the head of the notorious Byrne crime family, but she’s determined to give her little daughter, Scarlett, the best start possible.

After the death of her beloved father, the notorious gangster Jimmy Byrne, nothing’s stopping Nancy from making money on her own terms – even if she has to combine motherhood with providing for her entire family. But with enemies at their door, she’ll do whatever it takes to protect her loved ones.

But then comes the day when Scarlett goes missing, snatched by a stranger during a trip to the local park, and Nancy’s world is torn apart. Amidst the terror of losing her precious daughter, Nancy is sure of only two things. Someone has taken her daughter … and when she finds them, there’s going to be hell to pay.

Can she find Scarlett – before it’s too late? Or will Nancy’s life of crime come back to haunt her in the worst way possible. 

E1F3660A-E5FA-4419-8451-16F1D13B7348

Oh my what an explosive book The Forgotten turned out be, when it comes to writing hard hitting crime thrillers Casey Kelleher’s  up there with the best. Not only has she written a cracking story but she managed to incorporate all the elements I love in this type of read, a gritty storyline, dysfunctional characters, violence and treachery  all combined  together in one darkly wrapped package. I would recommend you read all three books in the series as each is a continuation of the last, but it wouldn’t be any hardship to start at the beginning as it’s such a brilliant series. 

Nancy as the head of the notorious Byrne crime family has gathered many enemies over the years, each one holds a grudge and it’s time for them to exact their revenge,  as the old adage says “revenge is a dish best served cold” and my god Nancy’s enemies are queuing up in droves to get theirs. The Byrne family are the definition of dysfunctional, each has their own secrets they would prefer to stay buried, the simmering anger between them causes tension and rather like car crash you can’t help but read on in horrified fascination, as you know things are going to get a lot worse!  

Nancy is one hell of a character ballsy, confident and doesn’t suffer fools gladly, even if their members of her own family, but now she has a daughter to protect you can actually see a chink in her armour, a softer side that wants to protect her daughter at any cost. There’s violence and swearing but that’s pretty much standard in a book that’s set around the criminal world, personally I think it gives the book an air of gritty realism. The author certainly knows how to keep the reader entertained with Nancy facing crisis after crisis I flew through the pages. The Forgotten is a story of treachery, loyalty and family ties and although these are familiar themes in the authors book, she still manages to write an exciting tale with surprises galore which make this a “must read” series for crime thriller lovers.

  • Print Length: 380 pages
  • Publisher: Bookouture (7 Aug. 2018)

Buying links:    Amazon UK 🇬🇧          Amazon US 🇺🇸

About the author 

ACD52463-6F09-4072-95C7-4ABEC2D3CD93

Born in Cuckfield, West Sussex, Casey Kelleher grew up as an avid reader and a huge fan of author Martina Cole. 

Whilst working as a beauty therapist and bringing up her three children together with her husband, Casey penned her debut novel Rotten to the Core. Its success meant that she could give up her day job and concentrate on writing full time. 

She has since published 

Rise and Fall, 

Heartless, 

Bad Blood, 

The Taken, 

The Promise, 

The Byrne Trilogy

The Betrayed (Book 1 Byrne series) 

The Broken (Book 2 Byrne series) 

and her latest The Forgotten (Book 3 Byrne series) due for published on the 7th August 2018. 

For all news and updates:

www.caseykelleher.co.uk

 

 

 

To learn more about the series or buy the authors books….Casey Kelleher Books

My thanks to Kim Nash, Noelle Holten and Bookouture for my ARC in exchange for an unbiased review.

Don’t forget to check out my fellow book bloggers reviews……..

555E3B93-3F92-4A78-8B96-204191213205

**Blog tour** #DoNoHarm by L V Hay @LucyVHayAuthor @OrendaBooks @annecater

4EEDAE64-7ECF-48D9-9B29-30A0CF21D8D1

Today I’m thrilled to be one of the many bloggers taking part in the blog tour for Do No Harm by L V Hay, published by Orenda books,  you don’t even have to wait to get a copy, one click and it’s yours, but a **word of warning** you may want to clear your schedule before starting this one As it’s such a compelling read. Before I share my thoughts here’s the book description……..

8C1750AD-BA87-430C-AD1A-BD1B763C7917

After leaving her marriage to jealous, possessive oncologist Maxwell, Lily and her six-year-old son have a second chance at happiness with headteacher Sebastian. Kind but vulnerable, Sebastian is the polar opposite of Maxwell, and the perfect match for Lily. After a whirlwind romance, they marry, and that’s when things start to go wrong…

Maxwell returns to the scene, determined to win back his family, and events soon spiral out of control. Lily and Sebastian find themselves not only fighting for their relationship, but also their lives…

Chilling, dark and terrifying, Do No Harm is a taut psychological thriller and a study of obsession, from one of the most exciting new voices in crime fiction.

E1F3660A-E5FA-4419-8451-16F1D13B7348

What a fabulous and captivating  psychological thriller Do No Harm turned out to be. Deviously plotted the L V Hay delivers a story with sustained tension, surprises, and a constant sense of impending doom, definitely my kind of read. There is nothing  I find more satisfying than reading a book that heightens my feelings of anticipation, excitement and anxiety and this is one of those rare books that managed to evoke all these feelings and more.  

Lily is looking forward to starting a new life with Sebastian, she believes she can finally shut the door on her first marriage to Maxwell, a possessive control freak, but before the ink has even had time to dry on the marriage certificate, it soon becomes apparent  someone will do anything to break the couple up. Hay drags the reader into a compelling plot that’s claustrophobic and very tense, you very much feel like a “fly on the wall” as the couples life begins to unravel, you want to jump into the pages and warn them “to trust no one”. 

Do No Harm is an unsettling tale of obsession, Lucy Hay explores the persistent disturbing preoccupation someone appears to have with the couple through occasional chapters told from their POV, it’s these chapters that make you realise how obsession can turn into something much more dangerous and chilling.  The author has created a cast of characters who can only be described as untrustworthy, and that’s the thing I loved about this book as the reader your on high alert looking for inconsistencies in the characters dialogue, constantly second guessing and trying to work out who and why someone is manipulating the couples relationship, I think every character featured as a “suspect” at some point hence my constant feelings of anxiety.  Although I did guess the “culprit” correctly I still really enjoyed this book as I was stilll left wondering WHY? and the motive behind   their increasingly disturbing behaviour.  

Do No Harm has all the ingredients I’ve come to expect in a psychological thriller and then some,  with unstable characters, steeped in mystery and suspense.  I raced through this book, it’s satisfyingly twisted and made for a compelling read.  I should mention I loved the conclusion so satisfying and yet shocking. L V Hay is definitely an author to look out for and I’m excited to see what twisted plot she comes up with in her next book.  Highly recommended. 

  • Print Length: 300 pages
  • Publisher: ORENDA BOOKS (30 Jun. 2018)

Buying links:     Amazon UK 🇬🇧        Amazon US 🇺🇸

About the author

7AC72091-09E7-4D71-B71B-36177F54A477

Lucy V. Hay is a novelist, script editor and blogger who helps writers via her Bang2write consultancy. Lucy is the producer of two Brit Thrillers, DEVIATION (2012) and ASSASSIN (2015), as well as the script editor and advisor on numerous other features and shorts. Lucy’s the author of WRITING AND SELLING THRILLER SCREENPLAYS for Kamera Books’ “Creative Essentials” range, as well as its follow ups on DRAMA SCREENPLAYS and DIVERSE CHARACTERS for fiction as well as screenwriting. Her debut crime novel, THE OTHER TWIN,  published by  Orenda Books and has been featured in The Sun and Sunday Express Newspapers, plus Heatworld and Closer Magazine.

E08377CF-3FCD-4A9A-B8A3-26253925E8BD.jpeg