Haverscroft by S.A. Harris #GuestPost #Haverscroft @salharris1 @saltpublishing @EmmaDowson1

Today I’m delighted  to be on the blog tour for Haverscroft  by S.A.Harris. Haverscroft  has been described as a gripping and chilling dark tale, a modern ghost story that will keep you turning its pages late into the night. Today I’m sharing a guest post from the author herself, but first the book description……

2F4B5030-AE2E-4ABE-A309-7C58959554F7

Kate Keeling leaves all she knows and moves to Haverscroft House in an attempt to salvage her marriage. Little does she realise, Haverscroft’s dark secrets will drive her to question her sanity, her husband and fatally engulf her family unless she can stop the past repeating itself. Can Kate keep her children safe and escape Haverscroft in time, even if it will end her marriage?

Haverscroft is a gripping and chilling dark tale, a modern ghost story that will keep you turning its pages late into the night.

  • Paperback: 320 pages
  • Publisher: Salt (15 May 2019)

Buying link:   Amazon UK 🇬🇧

3BC833B9-1C0E-4999-919B-18D2584D9716

Do You Have A Choice What You Write?

In the run-up to my debut novel, Haverscroft, being published I was asked to write some articles about the road to publication. What influenced me to write dark tales and Gothic fiction. Why this genre, over say, romance? I dredged various things from my memory which had been significant one way or another over the years and wrote a couple of pieces. A friend commented she would not have such a wealth of strange experiences to pull upon and that got me thinking. Do we have a choice what we write or is it inherent like eye colour?

Those weird encounters were many and varied but the one that regularly causes outcries of horror happened when we were on a family holiday a few years ago. It had been a long journey from East Anglia to a cottage near Pitlochry, Scotland. We arrived and loved the house; a light and airy Victorian villa with a patio and manicured garden leading to a bubbling stream and fields. The weather for July was still cool so we put on the heating and settled down for the evening. And that’s when things started to get interesting.

I’d just told our youngest to go to bed for the second time when he announced there was a bat on the wall beside the fireplace in the sitting room. An original delaying tactic if ever I’d heard one. A chorus followed from the rest of the family; A bat? What do you mean, a bat? On closer inspection, it turned out our son was telling the truth.

The little critter was tiny, not much larger than a fifty pence piece and could only crawl rather than fly, thank goodness. Deliberation followed. What should be done with it and where had it come from? I fetched my laptop and began to search the internet for answers. As I sat on the sofa, out of the corner of my eye, something was moving. A small dark shape was travelling from the cushion at my back onto my shoulder and at some speed. My daughter’s exclamation gave the game away before I could shift my position. Another baby bat had arrived.

We started searching the room. Bats were crawling down the curtains, emerging from behind cushions and from beneath the sofa. My husband fled upstairs to bed – moths, spiders, creepy crawlies are not his thing and neither are baby bats it turns out.

The internet provided a number to call which even at 11:30pm on a Saturday evening was answered. Advice was given; put the bats in boxes, lids on with holes punched in the top. Judy from the Bat Conservation Society would call by and collect our small visitors in the morning and, by the way, did we know bats are protected? We should probably move out.

We followed her instructions, found Tupperware, tinfoil and caught as many as we could. I closed the sitting room door and locked up as the children headed upstairs. 

I stood on the threshold of our bedroom with the light from the landing at my back. My husband lay on the mattress, the duvet on the floor. I thought in the dim light he was asleep, at least, he was snoring, anyway. Around him on the bed were small dark shapes. Surely not, I thought. I switched on the light. My husband complained about the glare. There are bats on the bed, I said. No six-foot man has ever moved so quickly.

Early the next morning, Judy explained there was a maternity roost in the chimney. The warmth of the central heating or the heat radiating from our bodies draws out the baby rodents. She took away all the bats we had collected leaving us with the advice more were very likely to crawl out from the nest. How were we going to find alternate accommodation at peak season and at such short notice? We started packing our bags.

So back to that question, are writers born or do we choose our genre? Perhaps if I tried, I could come up with a historical drama or a cosy crime novel. Haverscroft crosses genres. Part ghost story and part intimate examination of a marriage on the rocks in the way of a psychological thriller. By day, I am a solicitor specialising in divorce and relationship breakdown, so again, I guess exposure to such events over decades influenced my writing. But I do not think genre is like eye colour. Experiences over a lifetime become ingrained in us but nothing is inherent. We all draw on experience as well as our imaginations in our writing but ultimately it is our choice what we write.

And after we packed our bags and left the bats behind? We searched for most of a day but eventually found somewhere else to stay. We had salvaged our holiday. As we pulled up to the new cottage it seemed a little strange, but then, that is another story.

3DEDFE48-99C9-4DD9-9686-73DD7F82C004

S.A.Harris is an award-winning author and family law solicitor born in Suffolk and now living and working in Norwich, Norfolk.

She won the Retreat West Crime Writer Competition in 2017. She was shortlisted for The Fresher Prize First 500 Words of a Novel Competition in 2018 and published in their anthology, Monsters, in November 2018.

Her debut novel, Haverscroft, will be published on the 15th May 2019.

She is a member of the Society of Authors. You can contact her via her publisher: chris@saltpublishing.com or on Twitter @salharris1 or author website: https://www.saharrisauthor.com

PRAISE FOR HAVERCROFT

An atmospherically creepy ghost story that keeps you guessing till the end! Sally Harris is one to watch.’ –Angela Clarke

REVIEWS OF THIS BOOK

‘The writing is taut and fluid. Both the atmosphere of the old house and the wider family dynamics are evoked with skill. Whatever one thinks of a place harbouring the spirit of past deeds this story could throw shade over certainties. Recommended, but exercise caution if reading after dark.’ –Jackie Law, Never Imitate

My thanks to the author and Emma at Salt publishing for the guest post.

Follow the blog tour…..

7278087B-CC8C-436E-BD51-06D1C8EFA433.jpeg

 

When Darkness Calls by Mark Griffin #Review @themarkgriffin @LittleBrownUK

Today I’m sharing my review for When Darkness Comes, the debut crime thriller from Mark Griffin, if you are a fan of dark and gruesome crime thrillers then this one’s definitely for you.

758ABBDD-C6F2-4743-91BD-933BD39C4883

***The first book in a bestselling new serial killer series***

Holly Wakefield works for the NHS as a criminal psychologist specialising in serial killers. She has particular reason to be good at her job – but she keeps that to herself.

When DI Bishop from the Met Police approaches Holly to investigate a recent killing, Holly is horrified by the dismembered bodies and the way they have been theatrically positioned. More shocking still is when the pathologist reveals this is not the first time she has seen these mutilations. It means a serial killer is out there, and they’re going to kill again – soon.

Holly is used to chasing serial killers. But this killer has something in common with Holly that she’s kept hidden for as long as she can remember. And for the first time since she was a child, Holly is forced to face the darkness of her past…

The first thriller in a gritty and gripping new crime series starring forensic psychologist Holly Wakefield. For fans of Patricia Cornwell, Val McDermid, Robert Galbraith and the TV’s Luther and Line of Duty.

803B132D-DF07-4C3F-8EBF-0A9B1A7F45E6

When Darkness Calls by Mark Griffin opens with a tantalising first chapter, definitely a promising start for a new crime series by Mark Griffin featuring forensic psychologist Holly Wakefield. I’m a huge fan of crime thriller series (in case you hadn’t already guessed) something guaranteed to make me pick up a book is one that  features a serial killer add in a forensic psychologist in the shape of Holly Wakefield (forensic psychology is another subject that fascinates me) and it was a book I just had to read.  When Darkness Calls is definitely one for those who enjoy a crime thriller that’s veers to the dark and gruesome, it’s compelling with many a nail biting scene to keep the most hardened crime thriller riveted.  

Holly Wakefield, is a criminal psychologist who specialises in the study of psychopaths and serial killers, some of whom she works with at a London psychiatric hospital. Holly is given the chance to work as a profiler with Detective Inspector Bishop and his murder squad. Their investigation begins with the discovery of an elderly couple murdered in their country home and it leads them to discover a trail of deaths stretching back more than 20 years. Holly is a refreshing protagonist for a crime thriller, she’s a walking, talking sickopedia, of serial killers and their macabre crimes, it’s clear she is committed to her job, she’s driven, and she’s quirky, but beneath the veneer are some very dark secrets that Holly would prefer to keep hidden. 

One of the things that makes this book such a compelling read is the author’s clever ploy of using Holly’s unhealthy obsession with serial killers as part of the plot  she relates details of infamous killers, their motives and their methods to the ongoing investigation which I found fascinating, this give the reader an insight into the unknown serial killer, as well as making this crime thriller all the more disturbing. The investigation takes a very dark and seriously twisted route, as Holly and Bishop chase a serial killer who is one sick individual, a master of control, manipulation and domination.  

There aren’t many books that make me grimace, some of the crime scenes and autopsies are graphic and pretty gory to say the least, but in the author’s defence they never feel unwarranted. When Darkness Calls is perfectly paced, it’s a dark tale (definitely my kind of read), with compelling characters, there’s a palatable sense of terror that permeates each page of this well thought out crime thriller. Did I mention this is the author’s debut novel? Well it is and what a fabulous start to this author’s writing career, in my opinion Mark Griffin is a new and exciting voice in the crime thriller genre and I will definitely read the next book in the series without hesitation. Highly recommended by me.

  • Paperback: 400 pages
  • Publisher: Piatkus (1 Nov. 2018)

Buying links:  Amazon UK 🇬🇧   Amazon US 🇺🇸

06584D02-323D-452C-A6AA-A684B16B49BF

Tick Tock by Mel Sherratt @writermels @AvonBooksUk #BookReview #BlogTour #TickTock

Today I’m thrilled to be on the blog tour for Tick Tock by Mel Sherratt. Tick Tock is the second book in the DS Grace Allendale crime series. Read on for my review…..

30E2DBFF-E517-49F8-9BF2-7679D87E0552

TICK…

In the city of Stoke, a teenage girl is murdered in the middle of the day, her lifeless body abandoned in a field behind her school.

TOCK…

Two days later, a young mother is abducted. She’s discovered strangled and dumped in a local park.

TIME’S UP…

DS Grace Allendale and her team are brought in to investigate, but with a bold killer, no leads and nothing to connect the victims, the case seems hopeless. It’s only when a third woman is targeted that a sinister pattern emerges. A dangerous mind is behind these attacks, and Grace realises that the clock is ticking…

Can they catch the killer before another young woman dies?

2C15D952-FF75-44D5-A1CE-F13DFC975D11

I’m one of those readers who likes a start of a book to grab me I’m not one for a slow buildup, I need to have my interest piqued from the start. Author Mel Sherratt knows how to deliver an opening chapter, one that’s shocking, it triggers the reader’s interest, as well as promising an exciting and heart thumping read.  Tick Tock by Mel Sherratt is the second book in the DS Grace Allendale crime series, and although it could be read as a stand-alone there are references to the first book in the series Hush Hush , so personally I would read them in order.

Grace and her team are called in to investigate the murder of a teenage girl murdered whilst on a cross-country run with her school. Was it a random attack? or was she specifically targeted? When the body count rises it really is a case of Tick Tock the clock’s ticking as the team are in a race against time to find the person responsible. Grace is one of those characters you can’t help but warm to, like any good detective she’s relentless in her quest to solve the crimes, but she’s also very aware of the victims family and friends distress and shows great empathy, as each death reminds her of her own loss. Her relationship with journalist Simon causes some conflict between the pair, but you can’t help hoping they are able to work through their problems. 

When I read a crime book, I’ve come to expect graphic crime scenes, I don’t necessarily want them, but more often that not they are there. What I really liked about Tick Tock is the fact the author doesn’t include graphic crimes to sensationalise her story, she concentrates more on the “after”. For me this made the read far more authentic, you sense the devastation and horror family and friends feel, their outpouring of grief, anger and disbelief, which give this novel a far grittier touch than any crime scene can convey. As you would expect like any good crime thriller, there are many red herrings and surprises to lead you astray on the path to the truth. 

The last quarter of the book really picks up the pace as Grace and her team move closer to finding the killer, and OMG I never seen that one coming!  I found Tick Tock to be a gritty, authentic, heart thumping read, Mel Sherratt’s writing goes from strength to strength with each book she writes. Highly recommended to those who enjoy a fast-paced, authentic crime thriller. 

  • Paperback: 376 pages
  • Publisher: Avon (2 May 2019)

Buying links:   Amazon UK 🇬🇧     Amazon US 🇺🇸

4AD78C3C-1126-4E1C-ADB1-252206A4002D

I live in Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire, with my husband and terrier, Dexter (named after the TV serial killer) and makes liberal use of my hometown as a backdrop for some of my books.

I’m not sure which I am most proud of – being on the list of Stoke-on-Trent’s top 100 most influential people 2018 or after years of rejection going on to sell over one million books.

Shortlisted for the prestigious CWA (Crime Writer’s Association) Dagger in Library Award 2014, my inspiration comes from authors such as Martina Cole, Lynda la Plante, Mandasue Heller and Elizabeth Haynes.

I regularly appear at festivals, conferences and events across the country – my favourites being London Book Fair and Theakstons Old Peculiar Crime Writing Festival, Harrogate.

So that’s me in a nutshell. Don’t forget to sign up to my newsletter and follow me on Twitter and Facebook.

Follow the blog tour…….

41E6A413-B685-4792-872B-AF221D50D1D2.jpeg

 

 

A Patient Man by S. Lynn Scott #BlogTour #Extract @SLSwriter @AnneCater #Randomthingstour #APatientMan @matadorbooks

Good morning today I’m on the blog tour for A Patient Man by S. Lynn Scott. I have an extract from the book, which I hope piques your interest. A Patient Man has been described as ‘ a book that explores the harsh realities of growing up in 1970s Essex, growing up on the poverty line and the impacts others’ behaviours have on our own lives’. Sounds intriguing, read on for the book description and extract.

9DC74520-4F7D-4575-9C0E-DA9650C3CC10

It is 1976 and Mikey, eight-years-old and street-wise beyond his years, is looking forward to a summer of freedom, roaming the creeks and the mud-flats of Canvey Island. But violent emotions are rumbling beneath the surface, about to destroy all that he thought he knew.

When Mikey’s neighbours, the Freemans, win a great deal of money, the old couple become the targets of a criminal act that leaves Peggy Freeman dead and her husband, Bert thirsting for revenge. Believing that young Mikey’s family is responsible, Bert devises a highly unusual but devastatingly effective form of reprisal. But where does the guilt really lie, and will there be punishment or redemption?

Told from Mikey’s viewpoint with light touches of humour, A Patient Man is a gripping crime novel peopled with believable characters who are drawn inexorably in to a story that explores the effects of greed, money and the human need for retribution.

  • Print Length: 179 pages
  • Publisher: Matador (20 Aug. 2018)

buying links………

58ED166E-4941-4F4C-A10A-89EB1489F4B0

Chapter 3

It is impossible to suffer without making

someone pay for it; every complaint already

contains revenge.

Friedrich Nietzsche

The next thing that happened took place just over a week later.

It was early summer, and the days were long and balmy as they always are when you are young. The holidays were still too many days away but with the sun already bright in a cloudless sky this day promised long hours of freedom if I made my escape before constraints were forced upon me. My mother preferred it if I went to school so that I didn’t bother her, but it wasn’t regarded as an absolute necessity and, as finding me and forcing me through the gates caused her no end of trouble, she followed the course of least resistance and just put the letters that arrived from the headmaster into the rubbish bin with a frustrated shrug.

I didn’t dislike school particularly. I had friends there, a raucous bunch that tore around the schoolyard at break-time like things possessed, bouncing off walls and bruising bodies, our own and others. Lessons weren’t much calmer. In most, I just did what I wanted and ignored the teacher or gave him blank looks so that he concluded that I was thick and not worth bothering with. I was occasionally intrigued enough by something or other to earn surprised approval from a wearied teacher who had given me up as a lost cause. I was naturally bright. I know that now but back then education and the reasons for it were a complete mystery to me. Schooling was an imposition on my time and I did not see how it could free my mind by constraining my body. I did go willingly on some days, if Bones and I had planned some adventure or some torment for a teacher or a fellow student, or if the weather was bad or if we were working on something transiently intriguing like Robinson Crusoe or the sex life of plants – which promised so much and delivered so little.

But when the weather was warm and dry enough to allow me to run free in shorts, a well-worn t-shirt and battered pumps, then I was awake with the lark (not that we ever had such a thing on Canvey I am sure – unless it were a mud lark) and off over the mud flats to the oily shore where all sorts of interest and delight lay between the wooden-hulled boats, floating seagulls, and grass- lined sea walls.

This morning though was destined to be the start of something different.

About the author

AD7CE223-29F0-4712-BDDE-EFE2FD44D84D

S. Lynn Scott began her adult life determined to take the theatrical world by storm. The theatrical world, it turned out, wasn’t quite so keen to embrace her as she had expected it would be, and so, nothing daunted, she successfully turned her undoubted talents to Terpsichorean entertainment in dark, exotic places. There she learned that a jewelled bra and a very large feathered fan are no substitutes for a good book and a cheese and Branston Pickle sandwich. Her further youthful adventures are, mercifully, lost in the mists of time and she now lives with suitable decorum in Leicestershire where she writes, insists on directing others who are better at acting than she is, dreams of working for the RSC and then writes some more. “Elizabeth, William…and Me” is her first published novel. There are others waiting nervously in the wings.

Website : http://www.slynnscott.com/

Twitter : @SLSwriter

Follow the blog tour……..

A03ED69F-D0C3-4419-8E36-780E7E1AE375.jpeg

The Passenger by John Marrs @JohnMarrs1 @EdburyPublication #MustReads #SciFi #BookHangoverAward

Today I’m sharing review for The Passengers by John Marrs, if you loved The One (now being turned be turned into a 10-part series by Netflix), then this is a “must read”. You can read in for my thoughts……

64B7DDEC-513B-4BAD-B44F-BEEF98F52A4C

Eight self-drive cars set on a collision course. Who lives, who dies? You decide.

The new gripping page-turning thriller from the bestselling author of THE ONE – soon to be a major Netflix series.

When someone hacks into the systems of eight self-drive cars, their passengers are set on a fatal collision course.

The passengers are: a TV star, a pregnant young woman, a disabled war hero, an abused wife fleeing her husband, an illegal immigrant, a husband and wife – and parents of two – who are travelling in separate vehicles and a suicidal man. Now the public have to judge who should survive but are the passengers all that they first seem?

DBF7EC52-93A0-4C85-A4B8-B6C7F231B84C

I’m all for advances in technology, especially if it involves self-drive cars as someone who never got the hang of driving it sounds like the perfect mode of transport or so I thought! Now I’ve read The Passengers by John Marrs I’ve done a U turn (excuse the pun) and I will definitely stick to riding my bike! The Passenger a futuristic novel set in the not to distance future blew me away its original, taut and brilliantly written.  I read this book at every opportunity, irritated by the slightest disturbance, which for me is always a sign of a fantastic read.  

The Passengers begins with eight driverless cars have their systems hacked and set on a collusion course, unfortunately for the eight passengers, but even more so when their fates are in the hands of the public who have to vote via social media which one should survive, and that’s where the story gets very interesting. Each passenger appears to be an ordinary person going about their day-to-day life’s,  it’s only when the author digs deeper into each character you realise that some are lying by omission, others have dark secrets or appear to be living a lie. What terrible things has each person committed, that they find themselves caught up in hackers very twisted games?

John Marrs has created a bunch of fascinating but flawed characters and none of them are as they first appear, as each of their stories unfold you will gasp with shock, fight back the disgust, and sympathise with some characters, but you can’t help forming an opinion of which passenger should die. Which leaves you with a dilemma what if you choose the wrong passenger swayed by the bare facts or what you read or saw on social media? This gives the read an interactive feel as you ponder various moral dilemmas the hacker presents. From the moment someone hack the passengers cars, you sense their bewilderment, and as events take a far more sinister tone, their fear is palatable. 

The Passengers is an edge of your seat read, one where you are thrown into the thick of the action from the start, where every chapter leaves you with a mother of a cliffhanger, urging you on to its explosive conclusion. I love the way the author has constructed a novel that plays on the fear of what happens when technology falls into the wrong hands future and is used against us.

This novel without any doubt is one of the most exciting Sci Fi  thrillers I’ve had the pleasure to read in a long time.  I’m sure this book will be snapped up for a TV adaptation following in the footsteps of The one , yes it really is that good. Would I recommend The Passengers? it’s a HUGE “yes”, it’s definitely one that will be on my top reads of 2019. A word of advice buy it now, expect the unexpected and buckle up for a hell of a ride. 

I’m giving The Passenger my shiny Book hangover award, It’s given to a book I feel is particularly outstanding, a book that covers every aspect of what I look for in a read, an original  plot, great characters and a storyline that draws me in from the first page and keeps me in its grips until I reach the very last page.

FF8EB1CE-86A8-4090-97E4-2F25FA9B55A4

  • Print Length: 406 pages
  • Publisher: Ebury Digital (1 April 2019)

Buying links:  Amazon UK 🇬🇧   Amazon US 🇺🇸

15523D04-04B7-4045-AD00-2C39AB4A839C

Night By Night by Jack Jordan #BookReview @JackJordanBooks @CorvusBooks #blogtour #JacksBack #NightByNight #BookHangoverAward

Today I’m thrilled to be taking part in the Night By Night by Jack Jordan blog tour. Night By Night is a stand-alone thriller and one I would highly recommend to those who enjoy a darkly addictive thriller. Night By Night is inspired by Stephen Port who murdered at least four gay men  between 2014-15 and the failings of the police in the investigation, which made this book a frighteningly credible read. Read on for my thoughts…

39A66C12-DCAB-4095-BA6C-7C18E6126689A darkly addictive, fast-paced thriller about a hidden secret, a missing person and a string of unsolved murders, by a rising star of crime fiction.

Rejected by her family and plagued by insomnia, Rose Shaw is on the brink . But one dark evening she collides with a man running through the streets, who quickly vanishes. The only sign he ever existed – a journal dropped at Rose’s feet.

Catapulted into a dark world of fear and obsession, she begins to dedicate her sleepless nights to discovering what happened to Finn Matthews, the mysterious author of the journal. Why was he convinced someone wanted to kill him? And why, in the midst of a string of murders, won’t the police investigate his disappearance? Rose is determined to uncover the truth. But she has no idea what the truth will cost her…

67F46A84-2C96-44C9-8206-1CDDFF074FA3

If there’s one thing I can be sure of it’s that Jack Jordan never fails to amaze me, each book he’s written has been very different in tone, content and plot. But still Night By Night the latest offering from the author took even me by surprise, I wasn’t expecting to have my heart shattered, or to find myself sobbing uncontrollably, at this point I realised I had only read the first four chapters of the novel! Such a brilliant and haunting start to what I consider to be Jack Jordan’s best book yet. 

Jack Jordan has a knack for creating characters who are lost souls, they get under your skin, you can’t but help but feel their emotions, their turmoil, but ultimately you want them to emerge in one piece from their living hell. Rose is one such character, her grief is palatable from the outset, you can imagine her state of mind caused through years of constant insomnia, and it’s these feelings that connect you to her character. When we first meet Rose she’s a woman who has reached rock bottom, she’s defined by one tragic event that has changed her life forever. It’s only when she finds the journal of Finn that a new Rose emerges, one that’s resourceful, stubborn and determined to get to the bottom of Finn’s  mysterious disappearance.

Night By Night is one of those psychological thrillers where the plot isn’t predictable, at one point I was feeling very smug with myself for working it all out, but I was wrong thankfully, as Jack Jordan’s plot was by far the more original.This is a modern day tale and the author pulls no punches creating scenes that are haunting, harrowing and emotionally charged, it’s the constant shifting of scenes that make this novel such an addictive read. The chapters told from the point of view of Finn Matthews add a sense of malevolence, that simmers away until the novel reaches its heart stopping conclusion. Without a shadow of a doubt Night By Night is a dark, intense, unpredictable thriller, but it’s also a novel that packs an emotional punch. In case you haven’t guessed I loved this book, and it’s one I would highly recommend to anyone who enjoys a well drawn, dark and haunting  thriller.

I’m giving Nigh By Night my shiny Book hangover award, It’s given to a book I feel is particularly outstanding, a book that covers every aspect of what I look for in a read, an original  plot, great characters and a storyline that draws me in from the first page and keeps me in its grips until I reach the very last page.

FF8EB1CE-86A8-4090-97E4-2F25FA9B55A4

Paperback: 448 pages

Publisher: Corvus (2 May 2019)

Buying link:  Amazon UK 🇬🇧

8F034C87-A66A-4FFF-88ED-31B47A2AD780

Jack Jordan is the global number one bestselling author of Anything for Her (2015), My Girl (2016), A Woman Scorned (2018), and Before Her Eyes (2018). 

To find out more about Jack, enter numerous annual giveaways to win signed copies of his books, and be one of the first to hear of new book releases and news, follow him here:

Facebook: JackJordanOfficial

 

Twitter: @JackJordanBooks

Instagram: @JackJordan_Author

Goodreads: JackJordanOfficial

Follow the blog tour………

F20B606F-7BCA-4325-BB9E-02165476B0CE

Jaded by Rob Ashman @RobAshmanAuthor @Bloodhoundbook #review #Jaded

Today I’m thrilled to be sharing my review of Jaded by Rob Ashman, the fourth book in the DI Roz Kray series. If you are a fan of gritty crime thrillers then this is a series that’s unmissable, read on for my thoughts…….

5342FC60-D216-47A4-A9C0-03844403B358

A body washes up on a Blackpool beach, tortured and shot through the head.

A man is found in an alleyway with his throat ripped open.

A woman is murdered in a hospital bed.

What connects them?

DI Roz Kray’s private life is in turmoil as she struggles to unravel a baffling case and DCI Dan Bagley is hell-bent on making her working life a misery.

Billy Ellwood is a chameleon. What forced him to disappear eighteen years ago? And what was the promise?

When Kray makes a shattering discovery it rocks her world to the core. The stakes could not be higher. She’s left with no choice.

This time … it’s all or nothing. 

4712FFDA-D74D-4341-8611-41000EEC330E

Rob Ashman has done it again! he’s seriously messed with my reading schedule, when I down loaded Jaded I planned on taking a quick peek at the first page, epic fail!  because before I realised it I had read the first half!  I shouldn’t have expected anything less, as the author has the extraordinary ability to hook you in with a shocker of an opening, let’s just say I never realised what a bottle of red hot chilli sauce could be used for (ouch). The author really has a very twisted imagination as I’ve mentioned in previous reviews, but it means the reader should “expect the unexpected”, I like that in a read, it heightens my enjoyment tenfold if you are never sure which dark path the author will take you down next.

Roz Kray is back, but the author doesn’t give her an easy ride, she struggles to unravel a baffling case when a body washes up on the beach, DCI Dan Bagley (a nasty piece of work) is hell-bent on making her working life a misery, her private life is in turmoil. I really felt for Roz this time round, at the start of the book she is looking at a rosy future with her new boyfriend Millican, but then she suffers a personal tragedy, one that might break Roz,  I’m not sure how Rob Ashman does it but somehow he always manages to gain my sympathy for what at first appear to be the most hardened killers,  Billy included. Jaded has sporadic chapters from Billy’s perspective, a man who faces his own personal hell, these chapters look at his motives and the brutal world he’s become part of, I couldn’t help but find excuses for Billy’s actions, and also hoping along the way he would finally find some closure to a painful chapter of his life. Rob Ashman shares both Roz’s and Billy’s personal tragedies as the story progresses it’s these chapters that are tragic, powerful and heartbreaking.

Jaded opens with many brutal murders, and the reader is introduced to an array of characters, what at first appear to be many subplots are craftily melded together to make a heart thumping read. With themes of human trafficking, drugs, and murder incorporated into a cauldron of violence and revenge Jaded is a crime thriller that keeps the reader on tenterhooks throughout. You would be forgiving for thinking this book sounds very dark, but there are moments of light relief hidden within the pages. Although the book packs a brutal punch, it’s actually a very emotional read, somehow or other Rob Ashman has the unique ability to write the most brutal scenes but alongside them are powerful, emotional scenes that make his book such a pleasure to read.

Jaded by Rob Ashman is the fourth book in the DI Roz Kray series, personally I wouldn’t read it as a stand-alone, it’s just to good a series not to start at the beginning. If you are looking for a sedate crime thriller, then this definitely isn’t the book for you, but if you are looking for a read that’s fast-paced, brutal, with well-depicted characters, a thriller that will make your heart pound then this is definitely the book for you.  Highly recommended.

  • Print Length: 285 pages
  • Publisher: Bloodhound Books (29 April 2019)

Buying link:  Amazon UK 🇬🇧

Other books in the series

 

 

Links to my reviews…….

#Faceless by Rob Ashman @RobAshmanAuthor @Bloodhoundbook #SerialKillerThriller #MustReads

**Blog Tour** #SuspendedRetribution by Rob Ashman @RobAshmanAuthor @Bloodhoundbook

#ThisLittlePiggy by Rob Ashman #BlogBlitz @RobAshmanAuthor @Bloodhoundbook #MustReads